College Welcomes New Public Board Members

Back to list

College Welcomes New  Public Board Members

The College of Pharmacists of British Columbia welcomes the appointment of three public representatives to its Board. 

Tracey Hagkull and Justin Thind have been appointed by Minister of Health, Adrian Dix, to serve as public board members for a term of two years. Ryan Hoag has been appointed for a one year term. 

Public representation is vital to the College Board’s ability to function, and to make decisions that reflect the public’s best interests. For this reason, the Health Professions Act requires that publicly appointed representatives must not be less than one-third of the total board membership.

“Our Public Board Members provide valuable insight that complement our perspectives as health professionals, ensuring every decision we make allows us to better serve and protect the public.” 

- Mona Kwong, Board Chair.  


Meet Our new Public Board Members 

Tracey Joanne Hagkull

Tracey Hagkull is a Nurse Clinician and Health Educator, having recently returned to Canada after working as a Health Educator and Substance Awareness Co-ordinator at the American School of Dubai in the United Arab Emirates. Before that, she was a Nurse Clinician in Cardiac Sciences at BC Children's Hospital. Active in her community, Ms. Hagkull volunteers with the Advanced Coronary Treatment Foundation, and is a past volunteer with the Make A Wish Foundation (UAE) and the Teen Transplant Support Group (BC Transplant Society). Ms. Hagkull holds her Nursing Diploma from Vancouver General Hospital, her Bachelor of Science from the University of Victoria (UVic), and she is currently completing her Master of Nursing with Athabasca University.

Ryan A. Hoag

Ryan Hoag is a partner at MNP LLP, a national accounting firm. Specializing in taxation, he advises corporations and their shareholders on a broad range of issues. In addition to a strong background in private practice, Mr. Hoag has experience in government policy research and analysis. He is currently involved in the community as a member of the Steering Committee for the Alzheimer Society of B.C.’s “Breakfast to Remember”, the VANTEC Angel Investment Network, the B.C. Technology Industry Association, the Canadian Tax Foundation, and Financial Executives International Canada. Mr. Hoag holds a Canadian Professional Accountant (CPA) degree, and a Master of Science and Bachelor of Arts from the University of British Columbia. Ryan was previously a board member of the College from 2012 to 2014. 

Justin Singh Thind

Justin Singh Thind is currently a managing partner for Singh Thind & Associates. Previously, he was an associate lawyer for Singh Abrahams and SAJ Lawyer. Prior to that venture, he was a special assistant to the Speaker of the Senate of Canada. Active in his community, Mr. Thind is a director for the Professor Mohan Singh Memorial Foundation. He holds his Bachelor of Arts in Psychology (Honors) from the University of Regina and his Bachelor of Laws from the University of Saskatchewan.

Jan 11, 2018