

Board Resolution Sent via email March 12, 2018 By Board Chair, Mona Kwong

MINUTES

The following resolution of the Board of the College of Pharmacists of British Columbia is valid and binding as per section 13(12) of the *Health Professions Act*-Bylaws, and has been signed by the following Board members:

Mona Kwong, Chair & District 1 Board Member
Arden Barry, Vice-Chair & District 7 Board Member
Ming Chang, District 2 Board Member
Tara Oxford, District 3 Board Member
Christopher Szeman, District 4 Board Member
Frank Lucarelli, District 5 Board Member
Anar Dossa, District 6 Board Member
Sorell Wellon, District 8 Board Member
Tracey Hagkull, Public Board Member
Ryan Hoag, Public Board Member
Justin Thind, Public Board Member
Jeremy Walden, Public Board Member

Be it resolved that the Board appoints Justin Thind as a Board public member and Arden Barry and Tara Oxford as Board members to the Governance Committee with a three year term ending April 2021.

Ар	Appendix		
1	Signed Board Resolution		
2	Board Resolution Briefing Notes		



Resolution of the Board of the College of Pharmacists of British Columbia made in accordance with section 13(12) of the *Health Professions Act* – Bylaws.

Be it resolved that the Board appoints Justin Thind as a Board public member and Arden Barry and Tara Oxford as Board members to the Governance Committee with a 3 year term ending April 2021.

Madino	
	March 12, 2018
Mona Kwong, Chair, District	Date
al Bam	March 13, 2018
Arden Barry, Vice-Chair, District	Date
0,1	March 12, 2018
Ming Chang, District 2	Date
1000	
and the	March 13, 2018
Fara Oxford, District 3	Date
M ,	
Jen Jen	March 13, 2018
Christopher Szeman, District 4	Date
	March 14, 2018
Frank Lucarelli, District 5	Date



	March 16, 2018
Anar Dossa, District 6	Date
Aveller.	March 13, 2018
Sorell Wellon, District 8	Date
Hagkull.	March 13, 2018
Tracey Hagkull, Government Appointee	Date
La Hlan	March 15, 2018
Ryan Hoag, Government Appointee	Date
Soul A Ald	March 12, 2018
Justin Thind, Government Appointee	Date
Que	March 12, 2018
Jeremy Walden, Government Appointee	Date
V	



BOARD DECISION March 12, 2018

Membership Appointment – Governance Committee

Recommended Board Resolution:

Be it resolved that the Board appoints Justin Thind as a Board public member and Arden Barry and Tara Oxford as Board members to the Governance Committee with a three year term ending April 2021.

Purpose

The Governance Committee is currently not properly constituted in accordance with the committee's Terms of Reference.

Background

The Governance Committee's Terms of Reference requires at least 3 but no more than 5 Board members appointed by the Board, and one appointee be a Board public representative.

In order for the committee to be properly constituted, it is recommended that Justin Thind be appointed as the Board public member. Arden Barry and Tara Oxford be appointed as the Board members.

The College is relying on the following legislative provision to expedite Board approval:

Section 13(12) of the *Health Professions Act*-Bylaws:

A written resolution signed by all Board members is valid and binding and of the same effect as if such resolution has been duly passed at a board meeting.

Recommendation

The Board appoints Justin Thind as a Board public member and Arden Barry and Tara Oxford as Board members to the Governance Committee with a 3 year term ending April 2021 by signing the attached Resolution.

Apı	Appendix	
1	Arden Barry biography	
2	Justin Thind biography	
3	Tara Oxford biography	



Resolution of the Board of the College of Pharmacists of British Columbia made in accordance with section 13(12) of the *Health Professions Act* – Bylaws.

Be it resolved that the Board appoints Justin Thind as a Board public member and Arden Barry and Tara Oxford as Board members to the Governance Committee with a 3 year term ending April 2021.

Mona Kwong, Chair, District 1	Date
Arden Barry, Vice-Chair, District 7	Date
Ming Chang, District 2	Date
Tara Oxford, District 3	Date
Christopher Szeman, District 4	Date
 Frank Lucarelli, District 5	Date



Anar Dossa, District 6	Date	
Sorell Wellon, District 8	Date	
Tracey Hagkull, Government Appointee	Date	
Ryan Hoag, Government Appointee	Date	
Justin Thind, Government Appointee	Date	
Jeremy Walden, Government Appointee	 Date	

Arden Barry, RPh

Vice-Chair, District 7 - Community Hospitals

Arden Barry is a clinical pharmacy and research specialist who practices in two ambulatory clinics at Chilliwack General Hospital. He has over 14 years of community and hospital pharmacy experience, and is an Assistant Professor (Partner) with the UBC Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, and an Associate Member of the Department of Family Medicine with the UBC Faculty of Medicine. From 2012-15, he served as a presidential officer of the Alberta Branch of the Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists.

Justin Thind

Government Appointee

Justin Singh Thind is currently a managing partner for Singh Thind & Associates. Previously, he was an associate lawyer for Singh Abrahams and SAJ Lawyer. Prior to that venture, he was a special assistant to the Speaker of the Senate of Canada. Active in his community, Mr. Thind is a director for the Professor Mohan Singh Memorial Foundation. He holds his Bachelor of Arts in Psychology (Honors) from the University of Regina and his Bachelor of Laws from the University of Saskatchewan.

Tara Oxford, RPh

District 3 - Vancouver Island / Coastal

Tara Oxford is the pharmacy manager of a community pharmacy on Vancouver Island. She has over 15 years of pharmacy experience, including clinical and management roles, after becoming registered in the United Kingdom. She is a certified injection pharmacist, anticoagulation pharmacist and diabetes instructor.