

Board Meeting
January 21st, 2015
9 pm
200-1765 West 8th Avenue,
Vancouver, BC

MINUTES

Members Present:

Anar Dossa, Chair & District 6 Board Member (via Videoconference)
Ming Chang, District 2 Board Member
Blake Reynolds, District 4 Board Member (via Videoconference)
Bob Craigue, District 5 Board Member (via Videoconference)
Aleisha (Thornhill) Enemark, District 7 Board Member (via Videoconference)
Bal Dhillon, District 8 Board Member
Kris Gustavson, Public Board Member
Jeremy Walden, Public Board Member (via Videoconference)
George Walton, Public Board Member (via Videoconference)

Regrets:

Blair Tymchuk, Vice-Chair, District 3 Board Member Agnes Fridl Poljak, District 1 Board Member Norman Embree, Public Board Member

Staff:

Bob Nakagawa, Registrar Suzanne Solven, Deputy Registrar and Director – Legislation, Discipline and Investigations Lori Tanaka, Executive Assistant to the Deputy Registrar

1. WELCOME & CALL TO ORDER

Chair Dossa called the meeting to order at 9:10pm.



2. INQUIRY COMMITTEE

a) Membership Appointment

The *Health Professions Act* bylaws s. 15 requires that the Inquiry Committee consist of at least 6 persons appointed by the Board. At least 1/3 of the Inquiry Committee must consist of public representatives, at least one of whom must be an appointed Board member.

The public board member of the Inquiry Committee, Ryan Hoag, was not reappointed to the Board at the end of his term in December 2013. In order to be properly constituted, a new public board member needs to be appointed by the Board. This matter was considered urgent, and could not be delayed until the February Board meeting. Norm Embree, the new public representative appointed by government, has been approached, and is prepared to accept this appointment if approved by the Board.

It was MOVED (B. Reynolds) and SECONDED (A. (Thornhill) Enemark) that:

The Board appoint Norman Embree as the Board public member of the Inquiry Committee.

CARRIED

3. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 9:17pm.